New Westminster

A city of British Columbia, founded by Colonel R. C.

Moody in 1859, and first named Queensborough. The present name was given

by Queen Victoria the same year, when the new town was selected as the

capital of British Columbia. It was incorporated in 1860; and in 1868

the seat of government was removed to Victoria. =Index=: (Sir James Douglas era) Chosen as

capital of colony of British Columbia, 247; local dispute as to name,

247; present name given by Queen Victoria, 247; sale of town lots, 247.